Our Team


Our international and passionate team of is the lifeblood of the Project, working to unearth, analyse and share Black historical narratives in new, exciting and engaging ways.

Please visit our Careers page for current opportunities.

Fellows

Our Fellows are our lead researchers and course administrators. They assist with the design and delivery of our courses, providing thought leadership in their areas of expertise. With interests that cover the depth and breadth of African History and Black Political Thought and Culture, they are dynamic voices in their field, whether they are at the beginning or in the mature stages of their careers. They take a leading role in conceptualising how the Project achieves its mission and maintains the highest levels of academic rigour

Junior Researchers

Our Junior Researchers assist the team to conduct research to support our public lectures, workshops and courses. They take a leading role in the design and delivery of our public lecture series and in the breaking out of the Project’s research into resources for students, educators, and parents. 

Principal Researchers

Our Principal Researchers work on Special Projects, such as the research and delivery of Black History History Month programming or podcast series. They are enthusiastic researchers from all academic and professional backgrounds that think about new and exciting ways to share Black historical narratives with a wider audience. 

African History Project - Kofi Adjei copy

Kofi Adjei


Business Development and Client Relationship Assistant
BA English, Sociology and History, University of Ghana (2018)
kofi.adjei@africanhistoryproject.org

African-History-Project-Avery-Benton

Avery Benton


Junior Researcher, Black Political Thought and Culture
BA Ancient History, King’s College London (2018 – 2021 )
avery.benton@africanhistoryproject.org

African-History-Project-Ezike-Emmanuel

Ezike Emmanuel


Principal Researcher, The First Republic Podcast
BA History and International Studies, Adekunle Ajasin University
ezike.emmanuel@africanhistoryproject.org

African-History-Project-George-Evans-copy

George Evans


Kenneth O Dike Summer Fellow 2021, African History
BA History, Durham University (2019 – )
george.evans@africanhistoryproject.org

African History Project - Cody Harmon copy

Cody Harmon


Junior Researcher, African History
BA Educational Studies, Vassar College (2019)
Associate in Applied Science in Administration and Management Studies – Educational Studies, Excelsior College (2011)
cody.harmon@africanhistoryproject.org

African History Project - Kai Mora copy

Kai Mora


Associate Fellow, Black Political Thought and Culture
MA History, City College of New York (2021 – )
BA History, City College of New York (2021)
Associate of Arts, History, LaGuardia Community College (2019)
kai.mora@africanhistoryproject.org

African-History-Project-Krystel-Nozier

Krystel Nozier


Edward W Blyden Summer Fellow 2021, Black Political Thought and Culture
BA History, Law and Society, The American University in Paris (2018 – )
krystel.nozier@africanhistoryproject.org

African History Project - Iona Tompkins copy

Iona Tompkins


Junior Researcher, Black Political Thought and Culture
BA History and Asia Pacific Studies, University of Leeds (2018 – )
iona.tompkins@africanhistoryproject.org

African History Project - Tishe Wuraola

Oluwatishemilore Wuraola


Principal Researcher, The First Republic Podcast
BA International Relations and Affairs, University of Leeds (2020 – )
tishe.wuraola@africanhistoryproject.org

African-History-Project-Faith-Zoradey-copy

Faith Zoradey


Junior Researcher, African History
BA History, UCL ( 2019 – )
faith.zoradey@africanhistoryproject.org